Which Google Ads MCP server should you use?

By Tom Claydon, Co-founder, Nudge Search · Published 21 Oct 2026 · Updated 21 Oct 2026

For free, read-only access, use Google's official Google Ads MCP server. For reports across several ad platforms, look at Supermetrics, Windsor.ai or Adzviser. For an assistant that changes client accounts, pick one that makes you approve each change, lets you undo it and supports manager (MCC) accounts. The table below compares all 17.

We checked 15 MCP servers and two open-source projects that connect Claude, ChatGPT and other AI assistants to Google Ads. Every fact about another maker comes from its own website, documentation or GitHub page, read on 21 October 2026. Prices change, so check the maker's page before you buy.

Disclosure: Nudge Search publishes this page and makes Nudge, one of the 17. We use Nudge every day on our own clients' accounts. We have not tested the other 16; their rows show what their makers say.

What is a Google Ads MCP server?

MCP (Model Context Protocol) is an open standard that lets an AI assistant use outside tools. A Google Ads MCP server connects an assistant such as Claude to your Google Ads accounts. You ask questions in plain English, such as "which campaigns spent the most last week with no conversions?", and with some servers you can ask it to make changes.

How do you connect Google Ads to Claude?

Pick a server from the table. For a hosted one, add it in Claude under Settings, then Connectors, and sign in with the Google account that can see your client accounts. Google's free server is different: you install and run it on your own computer or Google Cloud, which needs a developer or a technical PPC lead. Then ask a question.

Which Google Ads MCP server is best for you?

You want toLook at
Read Google Ads data for free and run it yourselfGoogle's official server
Report across Google Ads, Meta, GA4 and other platformsAdzviser, Supermetrics, Windsor.ai
Get changes suggested, then applied by a person in another toolOptmyzr (changes are staged for review)
Let the assistant make changes, approving each one firstAdKit, Adspirer, Nudge (private access), Ryze AI, Synter (Solo plan)
Let the assistant make changes, with a preview or a paused launchAdPlug, Pipeboard, Supermetrics (beta)
Connect many apps at once through one platformComposio, Zapier

The full comparison

Rows are grouped by type, alphabetical within each group. The order is not a ranking.

ServerCan it change accounts?Safety steps the maker statesManager (MCC) accountsPrice on the maker's pageSetup
Read-only
Google Ads MCP (official, Google)NoNot neededYesFree, open sourceYou install and run it
AdzviserNoNot neededMany client accounts via workspaces (MCC not stated)$48.99 or $148.99 a monthHosted
Reporting tools with ad changes
SupermetricsYes, campaign tools in beta: campaigns, bids, negatives, extensionsPreview before going live; approval level you choose, from "No human approval" to "All live changes"; new campaigns paused; change history with undoNot statedClaude access with any plan; see pageHosted
Windsor.aiYes, including pausing, budgets, keywords and negatives (one Windsor guide says read-only)Confirm each writeAccounts by planFree plan, then $23 to $598 a month ($19 to $499 billed yearly)Hosted
Make changes
AdKitYes: campaigns, bids, keywordsEvery change drafted until you approveNot stated$29 or $49 a monthHosted
AdPlugYes: general changes and negativesPreview before runningYesFree account; paid prices not publishedHosted
AdspirerYes: campaigns, budgets, bid strategies, keywords, negatives, ads, statusNew campaigns paused; confirm before enabling or deletingYes, each account connected by sign-inFree (15 tasks a month), then $40, $83 or $167 a month (another Adspirer page shows $49 to $199)Hosted
GoMarbleOn higher plans, "with your approval"Approval policies on higher plans5 to 40+ ad accounts by plan$139 to $799 a monthHosted, or read-only open source
Nudge (ours)Yes: bids, budgets, keywords, ads, status, locationsApprove first; live check before applying; budget caps; one-step undo; change log with reasonsYesNot published (private access)Hosted; private access
OptmyzrStages keyword changes, rules and alerts for a person to applyChange Requests page; policy guardrailsMultiple accounts per conversation (MCC not stated)Included in all plans, from $209 a month (check billing period)Hosted
PipeboardYes: campaigns, keywords, bidsNew campaigns pausedAccount slots by planFree, then $29.90 to $199 a monthHosted
Ryze AIYes: campaign changes, budgets, assetsWrites need approval; test runs that change nothing, where Google allowsYes$89 or $279 a monthHosted
SynterYes: most campaign types, bids, keywords, negatives, ads, budgetsManual approvals on Solo; Scale plan offers autopilot; audit trailYesFrom $20 a month, plus usage feesHosted
Connector platforms
ComposioYes: broad changesNot statedLists sub-accountsFree tier, then $29 a monthHosted
Zapier MCPLimited: campaign status, customer lists, offline conversionsNot statedNot statedIncluded in Zapier plans; each tool call uses 2 tasksHosted
Open source
mcp-google-ads (by cohnen on GitHub)No write tools documentedNot neededYesFreeYou install and run it
google-ads-copilot (by TheMattBerman on GitHub)An agent pack that works through another Google Ads MCP: negatives, pausing, budgetsDraft then approve; undo; 30% budget cap per action, 7-day cooldownYesFreeYou install and run it

Prices are as shown on 21 October 2026, in the currency each maker shows.

What should you check before an AI changes client accounts?

A server that can only read is low risk. One that can change bids and budgets needs more checks. Ask the maker, in writing:

  1. Does anything change without a person approving it?
  2. Is each change checked against the live account just before it is applied?
  3. Are budget increases capped, and at what limit?
  4. Can any change be undone in one step?
  5. Is every change recorded with the reason?
  6. Which accounts can it see, and how do you remove its access?

If a maker cannot answer all six, keep it read-only until they can.

Do you still need a Google Ads developer token?

Not for Google's own MCP server. Google's documentation says developer tokens "were sunset on September 9, 2026, and are no longer required in the latest version of the Google Ads MCP server" (page last updated 16 October 2026). You still need a Google Cloud project with Explorer, Basic or Standard API access. Google's GitHub page still mentions a token, but the documentation page is newer, and some makers' setup guides are out of date too.

Notes on each server

Google Ads MCP (official). Best for: free, read-only questions if you can install it. Watch out for: it cannot change anything; Google says it "cannot modify bids, pause campaigns, or create new assets". It has three tools: list your accounts, run custom data queries, and look up field details.

Adzviser. Best for: read-only reports across several data sources. Watch out for: manager account support is not stated.

Supermetrics. Best for: agencies already reporting across 170+ platforms. Watch out for: campaign tools are in beta, and you choose the approval level, so set it to approve every change.

Windsor.ai. Best for: a free start with one data source and 350+ sources on paid plans. Watch out for: its own pages disagree on whether the MCP can write, so confirm before relying on it.

AdKit. Best for: a low-cost start, from $29 a month. Watch out for: manager account support is not stated.

AdPlug. Best for: trying write tools with a preview step on a free account. Watch out for: paid prices are not published.

Adspirer. Best for: creating and changing campaigns from several AI apps. Watch out for: prices are per task, and its pages show two different price sets.

GoMarble. Best for: agencies with 5 to 40+ ad accounts. Watch out for: write access is on higher plans, and we could not read its MCP page to confirm details.

Nudge (ours). Best for: agencies that want every change approved, checked against the live account, capped and undoable, inside Claude. It checks every connected account each night and ranks what it finds by money at stake; budget rises are capped at 20% per campaign and 25% per account per day. Watch out for: it covers Google Ads only and works inside Claude only; it is in private access, so you need a call to try it, and agencies connecting their own accounts is still in development.

Optmyzr. Best for: teams already on Optmyzr. Keyword changes, rules and alerts are staged on a Change Requests page, checked against your policy guardrails, then reviewed and applied by a person on your team. It also covers Microsoft Ads. Watch out for: it does not apply changes from the chat.

Pipeboard. Best for: a cheap start with write tools. Watch out for: new campaigns start paused, but no approval step is stated for other changes.

Ryze AI. Best for: approval-gated changes with manager account support. Watch out for: plans start at $89 a month.

Synter. Best for: building most campaign types from chat. Watch out for: usage fees on top of the plan, and the Scale plan's autopilot changes accounts without per-change approval.

Composio and Zapier. Best for: teams already using these platforms for other apps. Watch out for: neither states safety steps for Google Ads changes; Zapier's actions are limited.

mcp-google-ads and google-ads-copilot. Best for: technical teams who want free, self-run tools. Watch out for: google-ads-copilot needs a separate Google Ads MCP server underneath it.

Questions

Is there an official Google Ads MCP server?

Yes. Google publishes one on GitHub (googleads/google-ads-mcp). It is free and read-only.

How do I connect Google Ads to Claude?

Add a hosted Google Ads MCP server in Claude's Connectors and sign in with Google, or install Google's free read-only server yourself.

Can Claude change my Google Ads account?

Only through an MCP server with write tools, such as AdKit, Nudge, Ryze AI or Synter. Google's own server cannot.

Which Google Ads MCP servers support manager (MCC) accounts?

Makers stating MCC support include Google's official server, AdPlug, Nudge, Ryze AI and Synter. Check plan limits on the number of accounts.

Is a Google Ads MCP server safe to use?

A read-only server cannot change anything. For servers that can, look for an approval step, a live check before applying, budget caps, one-step undo and a change log.

How much does a Google Ads MCP server cost?

From free (Google's server and open-source projects) to several hundred dollars a month. Some charge per task or per action on top of a plan.

Sources

All read on 21 October 2026:

  • Google: developers.google.com/google-ads/api/docs/developer-toolkit/mcp-server; developers.google.com/google-ads/api/docs/api-policy/access-levels; github.com/googleads/google-ads-mcp and its releases
  • Optmyzr: optmyzr.com/solutions/optmyzr-mcp; help.optmyzr.com Sidekick MCP user guide; optmyzr.com/pricing
  • Adspirer: adspirer.com/pricing; adspirer.com/integrations/claude-code-google-ads; adspirer.com/docs/ad-platforms/google-ads
  • Adzviser: adzviser.com/mcp/google-ads; adzviser.com/pricing
  • Pipeboard: pipeboard.co/guides/google-ads-mcp; pipeboard.co/pricing
  • Ryze AI: get-ryze.ai/google-ads-mcp; get-ryze.ai/pricing
  • AdKit: adkit.so/features/ads-mcp/google; adkit.so/pricing
  • GoMarble: gomarble.ai/pricing; github.com/gomarble-ai/google-ads-mcp-server
  • Synter: syntermedia.ai/pricing; docs.synterai.com/mcp/configuration
  • AdPlug: api.adplug.app/mcp/google-ads; github.com/danielpopamd/google-ads-mcp
  • Supermetrics: supermetrics.com/products/supermetrics-mcp; docs.supermetrics.com, "How to manage ad campaigns with AI tools"; supermetrics.com/pricing
  • Windsor.ai: windsor.ai/destinations/windsor-mcp-for-ai-insights; windsor.ai/pricing
  • Composio: composio.dev/toolkits/googleads; composio.dev/pricing
  • Zapier: zapier.com/mcp; zapier.com/mcp/google-ads
  • github.com/cohnen/mcp-google-ads; github.com/TheMattBerman/google-ads-copilot

Related: MCP servers for PPC agencies · Supermetrics MCP · HubSpot MCP · Nudge: Google Ads management inside Claude